Rohit Sharma Will Lead India against West Indies, BCCI Announces the ODI and T20I Teams


Indian skipper Rohit Sharma is fit once again and all set to lead the Indian team in the upcoming white-ball series against West Indies at home scheduled to start from February 6. The series is a combination of three ODIs and three T20Is and will be played in Ahmedabad and Kolkata respectively.

Rohit was not a part of the Indian squad during the South Africa tour due to his hamstring injury. He cleared the mandatory fitness test at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru on Wednesday to become available for the selection. He, later on,  met the selection committee at the NCA.

Rohit was appointed the white-ball captain after former skipper Virat Kohli stepped down from his limited-overs leadership position. However, in South Africa, the ODI team was led by KL Rahul in the absence of Rohit. Vice-captain KL Rahul will not play the first ODI against West Indies but he will be available for the rest of the series.

After six months of absence from competitive cricket, the left-arm wrist-spinner Kuldeep Yadav will return in this series to boost India’s wicket-taking capacity in the middle overs. On the other hand, Rajasthan’s Deepak Hooda will play his maiden ODI series to assist India’s batting front. 

Senior off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has been ruled out from the team after being ineffective in the series in South Africa. Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami are also not part of the team as both of them have been rested while Ravindra Jadeja is not available as he is “undergoing his final stage of recovery post his knee injury”. Bhuvneshwar Kumar will only feature in the T20I series.

Ravi Bishnoi, who was a part of Punjab Kings in the Indian Premier League, has received a maiden call-up for both ODIs and T20Is. Bishnoi was signed by Lucknow Super Giants, the new franchise owned by the RSPG Group, for IPL 2022.


India ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Y Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan.

India T20I squad: Rohit Sharma(Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel.

Continue Reading on Spot Latest


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post:




More like this

Ratan Debnath is dominating world of entrepreneurship with his innovative business mindset

Our planet is growing more intelligent and wiser. People...

TURFF Coffee: The brand that adds innovation to world’s most preferred hot and cold beverage

The best social drink of all time, coffee is...

Sunny Sabharwal emerges as the next big thing in the Entertainment industry

Sunny Sabharwal has proved his mettle with his various...

Nitesh Kumar aka Nitin creates a stride on the world’s one of the most used social media platform

Social media has changed from being a fun companion...