Pakistan to Host 2025 Champions Trophy, India gets 3 ICC events in the 2024-2031 Cycle

Must read

On Tuesday, the Pakistan Cricket Board made the announcement that the country will host the ICC flagship tournament Champions Trophy in 2025. Pakistan last hosted a major cricket event in 1996 so it will be the first time in nearly three decades that a world tournament will be played in the country.

The tweet shared by the PCB chairman Rameez Raja read, “It’s a matter of great pride and delight that Pakistan will be hosting ICC Champions Trophy 2025. This great news will surely excite millions of Pakistani fans, expats and world fans to see great teams and players in action and will allow the world to sample our hospitality.”

The ICC on Tuesday shared their roadmap for the 2024-2031 cycle on Twitter where they announced the hosting rights of the upcoming white-ball cricket tournaments. According to the announcement, the USA will co-host the 2024 T20 World Cup along with the West Indies which is a history in itself. It will be the first-ever global cricket event held in North America.

On the other hand, India gets the responsibility of three important ICC events in the next cycle. These include the 2026 T20 World Cup and the Men’s World Cup to be held in 2031 which will be co-hosted by Sri Lanka and Bangladesh respectively. The country will be singularly hosting the 2026 Champions Trophy.

In fact, Champions Trophy will be making a comeback in the ICC calendar after a long gap of eight years. The last Champions Trophy was played in 2017 hosted by the UK.  At the same time, Pakistan will also return as a hosting country after last co-hosting the 1996 Men’s World Cup.

In a release, the ICC made it clear that a total of 14 ICC members will host 8 major events in the next cycle. “11 full members and three associate members have been selected to host two ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, four ICC Men’s T20 World Cups and two ICC Men’s Champions Trophy events,” said the board in the release.

ICC Chair Greg Barclay said, “It is fantastic to be returning to so many previous hosts, but what is really exciting about this process is the countries who will stage ICC events for the first time including the USA which is a strategic growth market for us.”

All the hosts were selected through a competitive bidding process. The awarding of the events rights is now subject to the completion of the host agreements by the preferred hosts.  

Host nations for ICC men’s tournament from 2024-2031

2024 T20 World Cup – USA and West Indies

2025 Champions Trophy – Pakistan

2026 T20 World Cup – India and Sri Lanka

2027 World Cup – South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia

2028 T20 World Cup – Australia and New Zealand

2029 Champions Trophy – India

2030 T20 World Cup – England, Ireland and Scotland

2031 World Cup – India and Bangladesh

Continue Reading on Spot Latest

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article