Deepti Sharma takes over as captain of Velocity in the Women’s T20 Challenge



All preparations are set for the upcoming women’s T20 challenge. The first match of the T20 will be played in Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune on 23 May 2022 and will  end on 28 May 2022. Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur will continue to lead the Trailblazers and Supernovas, respectively, while Deepti Sharma will take over as captain of the third team, Velocity, from Mithali Raj. For the first time in the tournament, the all-rounder, who has been a constant performer for the senior national team, is guiding a team.


Mithali Raj and Jhulan Goswami, two veteran players, are both absent from the squads. The BCCI has revealed that two experienced players who were part of the World Cup squad earlier this year have been rested in order to give fresh players a chance. “This year’s Women’s T20 Challenge will include a total of 12 international players. The three squads, each with 16 women, were chosen by the All-India Women’s Selection Committee “the BCCI stated.


The last tournament was held in the year 2020 in UAE where team Velocity won one match and lost the second game to finish at the bottom of the points table of the three-team tournament. Team Trailblazers, which is led by Smriti Mandhana, won the 2020 trophy. In this upcoming tournament in the player’s list experienced  Indian players Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, and Sikha Pandya don’t get anyplace.


BBCI also released a statement regarding these players and said that these players are not participating in T20 challenges because the BCCI gave rest to these players. These three players played in the last tournament and this will be the last session of the women’s T20 tournament because next year the BCCI is planning to organize the women’s IPL.


According to BCCI, nearly twelve international players will also take part in this challenge. South Africa’s talented cricketer Lara Wolvaardt and the world’s number one England bowler Sophie  Ecclestone will take part in the tournament in Pune. Apart from these genius players, Thailand’s Natthakan Chantam will also participate for the second time in this tournament.


Team SL

MI vs SRH Prediction – A match played for memory

Previous article

KKR vs LSG Prediction – Who will win

Next article

You may also like


Leave a Reply

More in Sports