India vs WI 2nd ODI: KL Rahul Returns to the Indian Team, WI Might Keep Their Playing XI Unchanged

2nd ODI
Photo Credit: Times Now

After a confidence-boosting victory in the first ODI, Rohit Sharma-led team India will now face West Indies in the second ODI at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on February 9. India will be aiming at winning the second ODI in order to bag the three-match ODI series. 

In Wednesday’s match, the focus will remain on the vice-captain KL Rahul who has returned to the camp after a short break. Rahul, as a matter of fact, might replace Ishan Kishan who opened alongside skipper Rohit in the first ODI. However, it is also quite possible that Rahul would replace Deepak Hooda if he prefers to bat in the middle order. Other than this one change, India will probably play with the same team as the last match.

On the other hand, senior opener Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer also returned to the team and had a light practice session on Tuesday following their isolation period. Last week, they tested positive for the Covid19 virus after arriving in Ahmedabad and had to miss the first ODI against West Indies. However, it is not likely that they would feature in the Playing XI just after recovering from Covid19 and missing the first match.

Young opener Ruturaj Gaikwad is still in isolation after testing positive along with Shreyas Iyer, Dhawan, Ruturaj, and Navdeep Saini. Saini, a standby team member, has recovered from the virus and rejoined the squad on Monday.

Meanwhile, it is most likely that the West Indies team will remain unchanged from the last match. However, they have the explosive all-rounder Odean Smith and batter Nkrumah Bonner on the reserve bench.

In the first ODI, Yuzvendra Chahal and Washington Sundar, the spinner duo, have joined hands to bag a total of 7 wickets and lead the hosts to a comfortable 6-wickets victory. Therefore, it is highly unlikely that the team management will bring any changes in the Indian bowling attack.

Probable Lineups

India: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul/Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul/Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal and Prasidh Krishna.

West Indies: Brandon King, Shai Hope (wk), Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Nicholas Pooran, Kieron Pollard (c), Jason Holder, Fabien Allen, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph and Kemar Roach.

Continue Reading on Spot Latest

Team SL

Karnataka Government Call On State Law To Back Hijab Ban

Previous article

5 things singles should explore to make the most out of chocolate day celebration

Next article

You may also like


Leave a Reply

More in Sports