Monsoon Session: Opposition floor leaders to meet and move to key bills

Monsoon Session

Opposition floor leaders will meet at 10 a.m. on Monday in the Upper House chamber of Mallikarjun Kharge, the Leader of the Opposition.

On Monday, Dr Virendra Kumar, the Union minister for social justice and empowerment, will propose the Constitution (One Hundred and Twenty-Seventh Amendment) Bill, 2021, in the Lok Sabha. The bill intends to clarify “certain clauses in the 102nd Constitutional Amendment Bill” in order to restore states’ capacity to establish backward classes, which has been demanded by a number of regional parties and even the ruling party.

The new Bill overturns the Supreme Court’s finding that, following a 2018 Constitutional amendment, only the Centre, not the states, could inform the socially and educationally backward classes (SEBCs).

The National Commission for Homoeopathy (Amendment) Bill, 2021, and the National Commission for Indian System of Medicine (Amendment) Bill, 2021, will be introduced in the lower house by Union Minister of AYUSH Sarbananda Sonowal. The former seeks to repeal the Indian Medicine Central Council Act of 1970, while the latter seeks to repeal the Homoeopathy Central Council Act of 1973.

After the union Cabinet got its approval on July 28, 2021, the Limited Liability Partnership (Amendment) Bill 2021 was tabled in Rajya Sabha this session. The amendment bill aims to make life easier for law-abiding businesses by decriminalising key parts of the Act.

The Deposit Insurance and Credit Guarantee Corporation (Amendment) Bill, 2021, also known as the DICGC Amendment Bill 2021, proposes three major modifications to the current deposit insurance system. If approved into law, these reforms will add a new dimension to the Centre’s historic decision last year to increase the insurance coverage for individual depositors in banks from $1 lakh to $1 million.

The Constitution (Scheduled Tribes) Order (Amendment) Bill, 2021, will be introduced in the Lok Sabha by Union minister Arjun Munda. On Thursday, the Upper House passed a bill allowing Mishmi-Kaman (Miju Mishmi), Idu (Mishmi), Taron (Digaru Mishmi), and Monpa, Memba, Sartang, and Sajolang (Miji) to be added to the list in place of Mishmi, Idu, Taroan, and Momba. Arunachal Pradesh suggested that the constitutional list of Scheduled Tribes be amended.

Nirmala Sitharaman, a Union minister, will introduce the Tribunals Reforms Bill, 2021, and the General Insurance Business (Nationalisation) Amendment Bill, 2021, in the Rajya Sabha. Both bills were passed by the Lok Sabha last week.

On Monday, Minister of State for Finance Pankaj Chaudhary will move in the Rajya Sabha to pass the Appropriation (No.4) Bill 2021 and the Appropriation (No.3) Bill 2021.

Continue Reading on Spot latest

Team SL

Anupam Shyam, a veteran actor dies at 63 due to multiple organ failure

Previous article

Dr Satabdi Roy Choudhury: Glorious Way of Passion Through Enlightening Research Smithereens

Next article

You may also like


Leave a Reply

More in Nation