Mamata Banerjee takes oath as Bengal’s third consecutive Chief Minister


TMC party supremo Mamata Banerjee took oath as the third consecutive Chief Minister of West Bengal on Wednesday at Raj Bhavan. After the killing of at least 14 people in the post-poll violence in Bengal, the CM urged all the political parties to ensure peace prevails in the state. 

Banerjee, who was sworn in at 10.45 this morning, said, “My first priority is to control covid. I am now going to Nabanna (state administration headquarter). There I will hold a meeting with my officers. and will take necessary measures to control covid immediately. I will address media again this evening.”

“There is some sporadic violence after the election. We have to control that with a strong hand. In the last two months, the administration system was run by the Election Commission. There was some inefficiency. We have to change the whole setup immediately,” she further added.

Minutes after the oath-taking ceremony, Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar also sent out a sharp message to her on the post-poll violence in Bengal. “In our constitution, the law has the highest position and we should maintain that. We should immediately take necessary action and send relief to the victims’ families. I have every hope that the Chief Minister on an urgent basis will take all the steps to restore the rule of law,” Dhankhar said with Banerjee by his side.

The oath taking ceremony was held at Raj Bhawan with a limited number of guests due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. The Left Front and BJP boycotted the ceremony. Congress leader Adhir Chowdhury also gave the program a miss but Congress leader Pradip Bhattacharya was present at the ceremony.

Apart from senior TMC leaders like Partha Chatterjee and Subrata Mukherjee, poll strategist Prashant Kishor, who played a key role in TMC’s victory, and Banerjee’s nephew Abhishek Banerjee were also present.

Despite losing from Nandigram, the TMC won the West Bengal elections with a massive victory. However, Mamata Banerjee will have to get elected to the assembly within six months of assuming office.

Team SL

Sunil Sihag Gora’s Debut Novel Day Turns Dark Is A Tale Of Unrequited Love

Previous article

BCCI suspends IPL 2021 after several players test positive for COVID-19

Next article

You may also like


Leave a Reply

More in Nation